Aaron Crowell, Chairman

Aaron Crowell is the current President of the Texas Municipal Police Association



Joe Gamaldi, Vice Chairman

Joe Gamaldi is currently the President of the Houston Police Officers’ Union. Joe attended the University of Hartford, where he earned a degree in Criminal Justice, with minors in Political Science and Sociology. He started the Houston Police Department in 2008 and graduated from Class #197. Shortly after graduation from the academy, he completed his Master’s Degree from CW Post University in Homeland Security Management. He is currently assigned to night shift patrol at North Station, but serves in a full-time capacity at the Houston Police Officer’s Union. Joe is the chair of the Education Committee, the Ways and Means committee, and serves on the bargaining team for contract negotiations. He also coordinates the Safe Ride Home program, founded the Houston Officers Peer Assistance (HOPA), and runs all the social media platforms for the HPOU.

Michael Mata, Vice Chairman

Michael Mata is the current President of the Dallas Police Association. Michael is a 20-plus year veteran with the Dallas Police Department and is currently Patrol Sergeant at Northeast Division. He worked previously at the Major Crimes Division, Dallas Police Academy, Southeast, Central, and Northeast Patrol Stations. Michael was elected 3rd Vice President in 2013 and also worked as a DPA Responder for DPA members involved in shootings or any other type of critical incident prior to becoming President.

James Babb, Secretary

James is a Past President of TMPA.



Thomas Brown, Treasurer

Thomas currently holds the position of 1st Vice President with Texas Municipal Police Association as well as Lieutenant currently assigned to Professional Standards with the College Station Police Department. Thomas was first elected to serve on the TMPA board of directors in 2008. During his tenure on the board, he has served as region director, treasurer, and vice president.  He also has chaired every TMPA committee while serving as a board member. Thomas brings over 23 years of experience as a police officer, all of them with the College Station Police Department.